imageandinfluence

FA YSDN 3106: Fall 2011

Dundas Square: Legos Advert for NY Times

http://tmagazine.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/11/17/block-party-2/?scp=1&sq=Block%20Party%20and%20Sachiko%20Akinaga&st=cse

Made from Legos

Sachiko Akinaga.

As an expert Lego sculptor, Akinaga has enviably turned child’s play into a profession. From animal musicians to jumbo parfaits, Akinaga has created intricate worlds of whimsy. Here, she shares some of her brick-building insights with The Moment.
[…]
What fascinates you about Legos?
As a graphic designer, I’ve always been fascinated with dot-matrix art and pixelations. Simiarly, Legos create a pixelated effect, like here with the T logo. The human eye, though, will smooth out the T to erase the lines of pixelation, so to speak. Similarly the trees, though square on the edges, appear round. I love how the brain trains the eye to see things in this way.
[…]
What do you love about your work?
What I love about Legos is, you can always redo your work, as many times as needed. I don’t redo my work that often, but I like having the option — it gives me the impetus to keep on going.
[…]
T stands for _______________.
The word tanoshii, or fun, in Japanese. In every project I do, I hope to create something fun. If the viewer finds enjoyment in what I do, I have succeeded. It also has a surprise. There are four people reading The New York Times. See if you can spot them!”